In a desperate attempt to make the matter clear to WhatsApp users who have switched to competing apps like Telegram and Signal, WhatsApp placed banners inside the app to help the user know where their data would go.
According to TechCrunch, WhatsApp will slowly require these users to comply with the new terms in order to get full WhatsApp functionality starting in mid-May.
Read also: 5 best alternatives to WhatsApp to protect privacy in 2021
If they continue not accepting the terms for a short period, WhatsApp will allow them to receive calls and receive notifications, but they will not be able to read or send messages in the app.
It means a short time, a few weeks, after which the accounts will be deleted automatically, as WhatsApp policy states that inactive accounts are removed after 120 days.